Donamseowon Confucian Academy was built in 1634, originally 1.5 km away from its current location. It received a royal charter in 1660 and relocated to its current location in 1880 due to flooding issues. The seowon's main gate, Ipdeokmun Gate, is made up of three entrance doors. Once inside, Yangseongdang Hall can be seen facing the main gate, with Eungdodang Hall to the left. Ancestral rites take place every February and August at Jungjeong Hall. Inside the seowon is a temple that enshrines the ancestral tablets of four prominent scholars who taught at this institution - Kim Jang-saeng, Kim jip, Song Jun-gil, and Song Si-yeol. Among the academies that served Kim Jang-saeng and his teachings, Donamseowon is considered the most important and influencial.
• experience guide
- Academic and character-building youth classes
- Neo-Confucianism programs
• world heritage
• 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330 (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese) • For more info: +82-41-736-0096 +82-41-746-5412
• rest date
January 1, Day of Seollal (Lunar New Year's Day) & Chuseok (Korean Thanksgiving Day)